News

On The Move…

2015 was crazy! And so far 2016 is proving to be following the same theme.

On Christmas Day 2014, Micah proposed to me, and sent us on the most incredible, challenging, life-changing, surprising expedition of our lives so far. It started us on a life-long journey together, yes, but the year that followed that sweet proposal was a year that in and of itself was a teeth clenching, overwhelming, exciting ride.

2015 revolved around missing each other more than we ever could have imagined, more immigration paperwork than we knew existed, transition, wedding planning, picking up roots, getting married, starting a new life together, dealing with my transitional trauma (our fancy phrase for my battle with homesickness that lead to a battle with depression and anxiety that I’m still muddling through), a new job, crazy schedules…

2015 was a year that required more than a little bit of bravery, a lot of trust in God, and many, many steps of faith. It brought with it a whole ton of joy, and some unexpected battles, but we made it through and stumbled into 2016 with some battle wounds and hope for a new year of joyful adventure.

2016 has started off a little rough. Micah is in the homestretch towards graduation, juggling a crazy homework load, youth ministry, and this crazy thing called marriage on top of it all. I am still trying to figure out how these things called emotions work in this shockingly unknown land of marriage, youth ministry, home making and the good ol’ U.S. of A.

2016 has also been really good, in the reading between the lines, focusing on the good days kind of way. We’ve laughed a lot, had some really good conversations, built strong or stronger relationships with friends from our church, made some really sweet memories, some really funny memories and enjoyed time with friends and family often. We’ve celebrated great things, learned more and more about each other and how to love each other better, learned more and more about ourselves and continually challenged each other to press into God in the hard things.

I’ve been drawn back to these post editing pages time and time again over the last year, and truly have only managed to turn out one overly long post (it was about an argument, and it was surprisingly one of my most read posts, ever). The more I reflect on things, the more I want to share what I’m learning with others in similar situations and the more I want to glean wisdom from those who have gone before me. However, as I work through a lot of these changes, and think of what the Lord has for me and for my writing, it has occurred to me that as every other root has been lifted in my life and every other skin has been shed…it may be time to start anew int his area as well.

With that said, TwentyThree & Counting will be deleted by the end of the month and my writing is taking on a new life and a new name (actually, its taking on MY new name), and you are invited to join me in this transition!

To follow along, head over to www.KristiRydmark.wordpress.com as I take a step in a new direction.

Gratefully,

-Kristi!

 

Leave a Reply

